Amp pricing, usage limits and free plan (Oct 2026)
Amp (ampcode.com) · 2 paid plans tracked · from $20/mo · last checked 2026-10-16
Is Amp free?
Amp plans, prices and usage limits
Gigawatt
How Amp's limits reset
| Plan | Price | Periods the vendor mentions |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | Not stated |
| Individual (Megawatt) | $20/mo | Not stated |
| Gigawatt | Not captured | Not stated |
Amp doesn't state a reset schedule on the pages we track.
Quoted from the sources above. Allowance periods are the time words each vendor uses in its limits ("weekly", "five-hour", "per month").
Notes
- Teams: no extra charge; members can be on different tiers.
Flags & uncertainty
Amp price and limit history
No price, limit or free-tier change logged for Amp yet. The detector checks its pricing pages daily; get an alert when it moves.
Amp news
Curated from official Amp posts, changelogs and status pages. Pricing and limit moves are highlighted.
- Amp runners: shared machines, worktrees, Mac app runner and remote desktop
Over a month of updates, runners learned to serve many directories, create Git worktrees, be shared with a workspace, start from the macOS app and expose their desktop.
Source: ampcode.com - Amp's Puck is now reachable from ChatGPT and Claude over MCP
Puck MCP exposes two tools, puck and orbs, so you can hand work to Amp and check running orbs from other MCP clients.
Source: ampcode.com - Amp follows up on its own pull requests: comments, reviews and CI land in the thread
New first-class GitHub webhooks let an agent subscribe to a PR's comments, reviews and CI, or spawn a new orb for every new issue or PR.
Source: ampcode.com - Amp now runs on your Claude Pro or Max subscription
A new Claude Code mode uses the Claude Agent SDK and bills to a linked Claude Pro/Max plan, free for everyone, with orbs, runners and thread sharing still working.
Source: ampcode.comCurrent Amp plans & limits - Amp adds Plaid speed: up to 6× faster GPT-6 Astra at 6× the token cost
Plaid uses OpenAI's ultrafast tier for GPT-6 Astra modes and works only with Amp-provided inference, not linked ChatGPT subscriptions.
Source: ampcode.com - Claude Opus 5.5 becomes the default for Amp's medium mode
Opus 5.5 replaces GPT-5.6 Sol in medium mode; Amp says it solved 65% of internal eval tasks for 10% less than Sol, while ChatGPT Only users stay pinned to Sol.
Source: ampcode.com - Amp goes free when you bring your own compute and model subscription
No monthly plan is needed to use a ChatGPT subscription with Amp and BYOK has no token fees outside Enterprise; Amp now charges for orbs, with a free Hobby tier and a Teams tier.
Source: ampcode.comCurrent Amp plans & limits - Amp's Puck can now explain your token, credit and orb usage
Ask Puck which threads used the most tokens or orb time; amp usage --details exposes the same data on the command line.
Source: ampcode.com - Amp education plan: $10/month for students and teachers
Half the usual price, including orbs, code hosting, linked ChatGPT or Grok subscriptions and $10 of monthly credits for other models.
Source: ampcode.comCurrent Amp plans & limits
Compare Amp
Amp pricing questions
Is Amp free?
Yes. Hobby: Free; all product features; pay-as-you-go for 'orbs' or use your own runners free; use ChatGPT/Claude subscriptions or BYOK; 'No Amp token fees or limits'.
How much does Amp cost?
Amp has 2 paid plans: Individual (Megawatt) $20/mo; Gigawatt Not captured. Cheapest: $20/mo. Checked 2026-10-16.
What are Amp's usage limits?
Individual (Megawatt): 45,000 minutes of 'orbin' time'; BYOK / bring your subscriptions; unlimited repositories. Gigawatt: Higher tier listed; price not rendered in default view. Pricing model changed to compute 'orbs'; Gigawatt price not captured.
Has Amp's pricing changed recently?
No change is logged for Amp yet. Prices were last checked 2026-10-16.