ChatGPT vs Le Chat: pricing and usage limits (Oct 2026)

ChatGPT starts at $8/mo, Le Chat at $14.99/mo. Both have a free plan. Every plan from both vendors, the limits each one actually publishes, and what changed recently, with a source on every line.

Chat assistantsChecked Sources on every line

The short answer

Verdict from the data
Cheaper to start
ChatGPT. ChatGPT Go is $8/mo; the cheapest Le Chat plan, Le Chat Pro, is $14.99/mo ($6.99 more).
Free plan
Both have one. What each includes is quoted under Free plans below.
Top of the ladder
ChatGPT Pro 500 at $500/mo vs Le Chat Pro at $14.99/mo.
Hard numbers
ChatGPT doesn't publish exact allowances, so the limits below are quoted, not counted.
Latest move
ChatGPT, 29 Sep 2026: ChatGPT Pro 500 ($500/mo) launched; Pro 200 reopened with a lower usage allowance.

Pick ChatGPT if you want the lowest monthly bill. Beyond price and free access, the deciding factor is which models and features you need; we track the money, not the model quality.

Head to head

FactChatGPTLe Chat
Free planFree tierFree tier
Cheapest planGo · $8/moPro · $14.99/mo
Top planPro 500 · $500/moPro · $14.99/mo
Plans tracked52
Yearly discountNone shownNone shown
Allowance periodsNot statedNot stated
Latest changenew tierlimit cut None logged
Last checked

Closest price match: ChatGPT Plus vs Le Chat Pro

Plus

$20/mo
Limits Expanded messages/uploads, advanced reasoning with GPT-6, expanded deep research and Codex. 'Limits apply'; message caps may vary with demand and are not published.Source: help.openai.com · checked 2026-10-16

Pro

$14.99/mo
Limits More messages and web searches (comparison: messages 'up to 6x free' / 'up to 5x free' rows); API credits included ($25.5/mo or $15/mo shown on page).Source: mistral.ai · checked 2026-10-16
Uncertain: Rendered page lists two API-credit figures ($25.5 and $15/mo); mapping to plan unclear.

Every plan side by side

ToolPlanPriceLimits as stated & source
ChatGPTGo$8/mo
More messages with tools, more uploads, image creation and voice than Free; longer memory. May include ads. Exact caps not published.
Source: chatgpt.com · checked 2026-10-16
ChatGPTPlus$20/mo
Expanded messages/uploads, advanced reasoning with GPT-6, expanded deep research and Codex. 'Limits apply'; message caps may vary with demand and are not published.
Source: help.openai.com · checked 2026-10-16
ChatGPTPro 100$100/mo
Pro reasoning (GPT-6 Astra), longer Codex/Work sessions, 'unlimited' subject to abuse guardrails. Lowest of three Pro tiers; per-model allowances vary by tier and are not published.
Source: help.openai.com · checked 2026-10-16
ChatGPTPro 200$200/mo
More usage than Pro 100. New (non-grandfathered) Pro 200 subscriptions get a lower usage allowance than previously offered.
Source: help.openai.com · checked 2026-10-16
ChatGPTPro 500$500/mo
Highest included usage; includes GPT-6 Astra Ultrafast and GPT-6.1 Sol Ultrafast.
Source: help.openai.com · checked 2026-10-16
Le ChatPro$14.99/mo
More messages and web searches (comparison: messages 'up to 6x free' / 'up to 5x free' rows); API credits included ($25.5/mo or $15/mo shown on page). uncertain
Source: mistral.ai · checked 2026-10-16
Le ChatTeam$24.99/mo
'Even higher limits'; project folders up to 40x free; team features.
Source: mistral.ai · checked 2026-10-16

Free plans

ToolFree?What you get for $0 & source
ChatGPTFree tier
Free $0: 'Unlimited text chats with GPT-6' subject to abuse guardrails; limited uploads, image creation, voice, deep research, memory, Codex access. Help center says Free users have GPT-5.6 Luna; tools have separate limits. Ads may appear in some countries.
Source: chatgpt.com · checked 2026-10-16
Le ChatFree tier
Free: limited messages and web searches; limited coding sessions. Exact counts not published.
Source: mistral.ai · checked 2026-10-16

Recent price and limit changes

  1. new tierlimit cut
    ChatGPT Pro 500 ($500/mo) launched; Pro 200 reopened with a lower usage allowance

    Pro 500 adds Ultrafast GPT-6 Astra / GPT-6.1 Sol. New, non-grandfathered Pro 200 subscriptions get a lower allowance; grandfathered users keep the old allowance through Oct 29, 2026.

  2. new tier
    ChatGPT adds a $100/month Pro tier (5x Plus Codex usage)

    New Pro tier between Plus ($20) and Pro ($200); temporary 10x Codex promo through May 31, 2026. Plus Codex usage rebalanced across the week.

Questions people ask

Which is cheaper, ChatGPT or Le Chat?

ChatGPT is cheaper to start: ChatGPT Go costs $8/mo, against $14.99/mo for Le Chat Pro. At the top end, ChatGPT Pro 500 is $500/mo and Le Chat Pro is $14.99/mo.

Is ChatGPT or Le Chat free?

ChatGPT: Yes. Free $0: 'Unlimited text chats with GPT-6' subject to abuse guardrails; limited uploads, image creation, voice, deep research, memory, Codex access. Help center says Free users have GPT-5.6 Luna; tools have separate limits. Ads may appear in some countries. Le Chat: Yes. Free: limited messages and web searches; limited coding sessions. Exact counts not published.

How do the usage limits compare at the closest price?

ChatGPT Plus ($20/mo): Expanded messages/uploads, advanced reasoning with GPT-6, expanded deep research and Codex. 'Limits apply'; message caps may vary with demand and are not published. Le Chat Pro ($14.99/mo): More messages and web searches (comparison: messages 'up to 6x free' / 'up to 5x free' rows); API credits included ($25.5/mo or $15/mo shown on page).

When did ChatGPT and Le Chat last change their pricing?

29 Sep 2026, ChatGPT: ChatGPT Pro 500 ($500/mo) launched; Pro 200 reopened with a lower usage allowance. 9 Apr 2026, ChatGPT: ChatGPT adds a $100/month Pro tier (5x Plus Codex usage).

Free to cite. All data is CC BY 4.0: quote, embed or republish it with a link to AI Plan Tracker. Raw data: tools.json · changes.json. Spotted an error? Every fact links to its source and the date we checked it.