Claude Code pricing, usage limits and free plan (Oct 2026)
Anthropic · 4 paid plans tracked · from $20/mo · last checked 2026-10-16
Is Claude Code free?
Claude Code plans, prices and usage limits
Via Claude Max 5x
Via Claude Max 20x
API (pay-as-you-go)
How Claude Code's limits reset
| Plan | Price | Periods the vendor mentions |
|---|---|---|
| Free | — | Not stated |
| Via Claude Pro | $20/mo | 5-hourWeekly |
| Via Claude Max 5x | $100/mo | 5-hourWeekly |
| Via Claude Max 20x | $200/mo | Not stated |
| API (pay-as-you-go) | Usage billed at API token rates | Not stated |
- Via Claude Pro Five-hour session limit and weekly limit, shared with Claude chat (web/desktop/mobile).
- Via Claude Max 5x five-hour session + general weekly limit + separate weekly Fable limit, shared with Claude.
Quoted from the sources above. Allowance periods are the time words each vendor uses in its limits ("weekly", "five-hour", "per month").
Notes
- Works in terminal and in VS Code, Cursor and JetBrains IDEs; IDE usage counts toward the same limits.
Flags & uncertainty
Claude Code price and limit history
No price, limit or free-tier change logged for Claude Code yet. The detector checks its pricing pages daily; get an alert when it moves.
Claude Code news
Curated from official Claude Code posts, changelogs and status pages. Pricing and limit moves are highlighted.
- Claude Code 2.1.299–302: idle compaction; standalone Claude Design closes 14 Dec
Idle 200K+ token chats are now compacted before the one-hour prompt cache expires, and a new notice says standalone Claude Design (claude.ai/design) closes on 14 Dec 2026.
Source: github.com - Claude Code Review is generally available for Team and Enterprise
Reviews now finish about 3× faster (6–10 minutes) with per-repo Quick/Standard/Deep levels; eligible Enterprise orgs can claim at least $10,000 in credits by 15 Jan 2027.
Source: claude.com - Claude Code 2.1.291–296: Haiku 5.5 default, blocking hook failures, sub-agent effort
2.1.293 makes Claude Haiku 5.5 the default Haiku ($0.10/$0.50 per Mtok, 1M context); hooks gain onFailure: "block" and the Agent tool gains an effort parameter.
Source: github.com - Claude Haiku 5.5 launches; Max and Team plans gain monthly API credits
Anthropic calls Haiku 5.5 its cheapest, fastest and most capable small model; Max and Team plans now include monthly API credits for the Claude Platform.
Source: support.claude.com - Claude.ai, Claude Code, Cowork and the API hit by errors and sign-in failures
Impact ran from 7:00 to 7:59 am PT on 29 Sep; sign-in, new chats and Code sessions failed, and some messages sent then may not have been saved.
Source: status.claude.com - Claude Sonnet 5.5 launches as the faster, cheaper partner to Opus 5.5
Sonnet 5.5 is the second model in the Claude 5.5 family, positioned as a faster, lower-cost complement to Opus 5.5.
Source: support.claude.com - Claude Opus 5.5 matches Fable 5.1 on most work at 40% less than Opus 5
The first Claude 5.5 model performs at Fable 5.1's level on most work and costs 40% less to run than Opus 5, per Anthropic.
Source: support.claude.com - Anthropic launches Claude Fable 5.1 and Claude Mythos 5.1
Anthropic calls them the world's most advanced models for coding and knowledge work.
Source: support.claude.com - Claude Opus 5 launches near Fable 5's intelligence at half the price
Anthropic describes Opus 5 as thoughtful and proactive, close to Fable 5's frontier intelligence at half the price.
Source: support.claude.com
Compare Claude Code
Claude Code pricing questions
Is Claude Code free?
No. Not included in the Free Claude plan (pricing table: Claude Code 'No' on Free). Can alternatively be used pay-as-you-go with API credits via a Console account.
How much does Claude Code cost?
Claude Code has 4 paid plans: Via Claude Pro $20/mo; Via Claude Max 5x $100/mo; Via Claude Max 20x $200/mo; API (pay-as-you-go) Usage billed at API token rates. Cheapest: $20/mo. Checked 2026-10-16.
What are Claude Code's usage limits?
Via Claude Pro: Five-hour session limit and weekly limit, shared with Claude chat (web/desktop/mobile). Usage credits can be enabled to continue past limits. Counts not published. Via Claude Max 5x: 5x Pro per-session allowance; five-hour session + general weekly limit + separate weekly Fable limit, shared with Claude. Via Claude Max 20x: 20x Pro per-session allowance; same limit structure as Max 5x. API (pay-as-you-go): No subscription limit; pay per token. Exact session/weekly allowances not published.
When do Claude Code usage limits reset?
Via Claude Pro: Five-hour session limit and weekly limit, shared with Claude chat (web/desktop/mobile). Via Claude Max 5x: five-hour session + general weekly limit + separate weekly Fable limit, shared with Claude.
Is Claude Code cheaper if you pay yearly?
Yes, up to 15%: Via Claude Pro is $17/mo billed yearly instead of $20/mo.
Has Claude Code's pricing changed recently?
No change is logged for Claude Code yet. Prices were last checked 2026-10-16.